DEVON MILES


“The important thing is not what you have already done, but what still lies ahead of you.”

From Chiang Mai via Frankfurt and Milan, and luckily having finally landed in Leipzig, the VJ-artist Devon Miles has impressed club and festival-goers worldwide with his innovative imagery and vision.
Amongst a long list of venues, he has been a resident VJ and visual artist for Ukraine’s renowned Kazantip festival – an event which he considers to be one of the world’s most exciting playgrounds. Devon Miles’ visual performances see him digging deep into his bag of tricks, drawing elements from classic video sets to complex video mappings and large-scale facade projections, never shying away from complex projects. These concepts are what constitutes the optical overflow in his VJ sets and video installations.

Musical luminaries such as Ricardo Villalobos, Noze, Tiefschwarz, Westbam and many more have already been enchanted by his performances. “Leipzig has proven to be a great home-base for me, out of which one can bring their projects to all parts of the world, carry them out, then return home to re-energize.” Giving a dancefloor or even an entire festival a complete facelift, and having the opportunity to both astonish and pull the audience out of the everyday ordinary is the fuel that drives Miles towards his new projects.

“Picture and sound already had a strong connection in the early days of man and complemented each other. I also feel this symbiosis when I’m performing at clubs or festivals together with the music of DJs or live acts. I try to put the ideas and emotions of the music into pictures, and create a flowing stream of visual imagery that puts the viewer under its spell, kidnapping them into a parallel world of sound, color and shapes.” Miles’ visuals are often scenic, and provide aesthetically shaped moments, movements and actions. Iconographic imagery filled with suggestive inertia lift the dancing audience and the atmosphere of the dancefloor into an opti-sonic fantasy world.

Keep on flabbergasting !

Video :

Website :

Resident :

Kazantip, Plagbeatz Westival, Elipamanoke,
City Club Leipzig, Sky Club Leipzig, Fritz Club Berlin
Major Gigs:
Nachtdigital Festival Olganitz (D) |Kazantip Festival, Ukraine | Moskwa Simferopol,
Ukraine | Karma Club, Dj Milk, Milano, Italy | Spindler & Klatt Berlin , VJ Battle |
Icon Berlin, Coldcut | Volksgarten Vienna ( for Tom Snow) Austria | Rheingold
Duesseldorf ( for Ricardo Vilalobos ) | Loftktichen Munich ( for Loco Dice and Picaya) | Distillery Leipzig (Stewart Walker) | Rave
on Snow, Saalbach‐Hinterglemm | Congress Center Berlin, CCC annual meeting | Gedenkstaette Bergen‐Belsen (Cloned Spirit) |
Warsteiner Clubworld Muenster | Ostel Berlin (Sarah Kuttner) | Soundgarden (Anthony Rother, Pascal Feos) | Distillery (Ricardo
Villalobos) | Vision of Sound, Halle/Saale (Tok Tok) | Arena Berlin (Designmai Youngsters) | Edirol VJ Challenge London, UK |
ClubXchange, Club Felix @ Hotel Adlon, Berlin | Fullmoon Festival | Stereo City, Ferropolis | B Seite VJ Festival , Mannheim |
RAVE ON SNOW, Saalbach Hinterglemm | Musikmesse Frankfurt, Edirol Showcase | Liquid Sunday Altenburg (Anthony Rother) |
VisionR Festival at Bellevilloise, Paris, France | Distortion Festival Copenhagen | Happyland Barcelona, Spain | Sonne, Mond,
Sterne Festival, Bleilochtalsperre

HomeBase:

Leipzig | Germany | Old lady shoe factory hand

Booking requests:

LUMAGRA BOOKINGS
booking@lumagra.com

DEVON MILES


“Wichtig ist nicht, was man bereits geleistet hat, sondern was noch vor einem liegt.”

Aus Chiang Mai über Frankfurt, Mailand und gefühlte 1000 andere Stationen glücklicherweise in Leipzig gelandet, beeindruckt DEVON MILES als innovativer VJ‐Künstler und bespielt diverse Clubs und Festivals weltweit.

Unter anderem auf dem Kazantip Festival in der Ukraine residiert er seit sieben Jahren als VJ und Visual Artist ‐ für ihn wohl einer der aufregensten Spielplätze. Devon Miles greift mit seinen visuellen Darbietungen vom klassischen Videoset, über komplexe Videomappings bis hin zu großflächigen Fassadenprojektionen tief in die Trickkiste der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten und schreckt nicht vor aufwendigen Projekten zurück. Ganz im Gegenteil, sie sind sozusagen das, was den optischen Overflow seiner VJ‐Sets und Installationen überhaupt erst ausmacht.

Größen wie Ricardo Villalobos, Noze, Tiefschwarz, Westbam uvm. ließen sich von ihm bereits die Auftritte optisch verzaubern. „Leipzig stellte sich für mich als gute Basis heraus, von der aus man Projekte in aller Welt tragen und realisieren kann, um dann wieder in die Heimat zurückzukehren und neue Energie zu tanken.“ Einem Dancefloor oder gern auch dem ganzen Festivalgelände ein neues Gesicht geben, in dem gestaunt, getanzt und einfach mal aus dem Alltag abgetaucht werden kann, treibt Miles stets zu neuen Projekten an.

„Bild und Ton haben schon in der Frühzeit des Menschen eine enge Verbindung gehabt und
einander ergänzt. Um diese Symbiose geht es mir auch, wenn ich in Clubs oder auf Festivals Visuals zur Musik der Djs oder Live Acts spiele. Ich versuche, die Idee und die Emotion der Musik in Bilder zu fassen und einen Bildstrom fließen zu lassen, der den Betrachter in seinen Bann zieht und für einen Moment aus seiner Realität in eine Parallelwelt aus Klang, Farbe und Formen entführt.“ Miles Visuals sind oft szenisch, stellen ästhetisch überformte Momente, Bewegungen und Aktionen ikonographisch dar. Bildwelten voll von suggestiver Scheinkraft heben die tanzende Menge und den Flow auf dem Dancefloor in eine opti‐akustische Extrawelt.

Keep on flabbergasting !

Video :

Website :

Resident :

Kazantip, Plagbeatz Westival, Elipamanoke,
City Club Leipzig, Sky Club Leipzig, Fritz Club Berlin
Major Gigs:
Nachtdigital Festival Olganitz (D) |Kazantip Festival, Ukraine | Moskwa Simferopol,
Ukraine | Karma Club, Dj Milk, Milano, Italy | Spindler & Klatt Berlin , VJ Battle |
Icon Berlin, Coldcut | Volksgarten Vienna ( for Tom Snow) Austria | Rheingold
Duesseldorf ( for Ricardo Vilalobos ) | Loftktichen Munich ( for Loco Dice and Picaya) | Distillery Leipzig (Stewart Walker) | Rave
on Snow, Saalbach‐Hinterglemm | Congress Center Berlin, CCC annual meeting | Gedenkstaette Bergen‐Belsen (Cloned Spirit) |
Warsteiner Clubworld Muenster | Ostel Berlin (Sarah Kuttner) | Soundgarden (Anthony Rother, Pascal Feos) | Distillery (Ricardo
Villalobos) | Vision of Sound, Halle/Saale (Tok Tok) | Arena Berlin (Designmai Youngsters) | Edirol VJ Challenge London, UK |
ClubXchange, Club Felix @ Hotel Adlon, Berlin | Fullmoon Festival | Stereo City, Ferropolis | B Seite VJ Festival , Mannheim |
RAVE ON SNOW, Saalbach Hinterglemm | Musikmesse Frankfurt, Edirol Showcase | Liquid Sunday Altenburg (Anthony Rother) |
VisionR Festival at Bellevilloise, Paris, France | Distortion Festival Copenhagen | Happyland Barcelona, Spain | Sonne, Mond,
Sterne Festival, Bleilochtalsperre

Home Base:

Leipzig | Germany | Alte Damenhandschuhfabrik

Booking Requests:

LUMAGRA BOOKINGS
booking@lumagra.com